Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Director of Operations

Albert Sims 
Associate Professor
202 Ag Research Center
Crookston, MN 56716
(218) 281-8602
simsx008@umn.edu
sims

Agronomy

Jochum Wiersma 
Extension Professor
108 Ag Research Center
Crookston, MN 56716
(218) 281-8629
wiers002@umn.edu
wiersma
Entomology Ian MacRae 
Professor
210 Ag Research Center
Crookston, MN 56716
(218) 281-8611
imacrae@umn.edu
mcrae
Plant Pathology Madeleine Smith
Assistant Professor
211 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8691
smit7273@umn.edu
smith
Sugarbeet Pathology Ashok Kumar Chanda
Assistant Professor
207 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8625
achanda@umn.edu
Ashok Chanda

Office Personnel

Office Administrator

Maureen Aubol 
202 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8602
aubo0002@umn.edu

aubol
Principal Account Specialist Megan Benoit
212 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8610
mbenoit@umn.edu
Megan Benoit
Finance Professional III Brad Heppner
205 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8605
b-hepp@umn.edu
heppner
Administrative Support

Amanda Lien
204 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8604
lienx081@umn.edu

Amanda Lien
IT Specialist Rick Quirk
109 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8632
quirk010@umn.edu
quirk
Buildings and Grounds Nancy Vraa
202 Agricultural Research Center
(218) 281-8602

Research Support Staff

Sugarbeet Pathology

Jason Brantner
Researcher 6
111 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8613
jbrantne@umn.edu
brantner
Agronomy/Soils Robert Bouvette, Jr.
Senior Research Plot Technician
North Farm
(218) 281-8622
rbouvett@umn.edu
bouvette
Agronomy/Soils Mark Hanson
Research Professional 3
North Farm
(218) 281-8622
hanso078@umn.edu
Mark_ Hanson
Agronomy/Soils

Michael Leiseth
Research Plot Technician
North Farm
(218) 281-8622
leiseth@crk.umn.edu

Michael Leiseth
Agronomy/Soils Hal Mickelson
Researcher 5
110 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8635
micke007@umn.edu
mickelson
Agronomy

Houston Lindell
Researcher 1
Soils Water Quality Bld
(218) 281-8612
hlindell@crk.umn.edu

Houston Lindell
Soil Science Kim Hoff 
Researcher 3
114 ARSF Building
(218) 281-8621
hoffx020@umn.edu
hoff
Sugarbeet Pathology Jeff Nielsen
Researcher 2
115 Ag Research Center
(218) 281-8615
jnielsen@umn.edu
neilsen
Plant Pathology

Mala Ganiger
Researcher 4
109 ARSF Building
(218) 281-8607
mganiger@umn.edu

mala
Plant Pathology

Joe Wodarek
Researcher 1
110 ARFS Building
(218) 281-8626
wodar006@crk.umn.edu

Joe Wodarek
Entomology

Tim Baker
Researcher 3
111 ARFS Building
(218) 281-8632
baker854@umn.edu

Tim Baker
Entomology

Josie Dillon
Researcher 3
110 ARFS Building
(218) 281-8634
dillonj@umn.edu

Josie Dillon

Maintenance

Maintenance Timothy Danielson 
Senior General Mechanic
Farm Shop
(218) 281-8617
tdaniels@umn.edu
danielson
Maintenance Ryan Altepeter
M & O Mechanic
Farm Shop
(218) 281-8616
altep001@umn.edu
altepeter

Farm Operations

Farm

Lionel Olson
Farm Operations Manager
Farm Shop
(218) 281-8616

Lionel Olson
Farm

Robert Heggie
Farm Equipment Operator
Farm Shop
(218) 281-8616

heggie

Farm

Grant Shane
Farm Equipment Operator
Farm Shop
(218) 281-8616
Grant Shane
Farm Craig Schmitz
Farm Equipment Operator
Farm Shop
(218) 281-8616
cschmitz@umn.edu
craig_schmitz